Côté d’Ivoire – Ivory Coast

Contact: Nicole Fuchs


Ivory Coast, also known as Côte d’Ivoire,[a] officially the Republic of Côte d’Ivoire, is a country on the southern coast of West Africa. Its capital is Yamoussoukro, in the centre of the country, while its largest city and economic centre is the port city of Abidjan. It borders Guinea to the northwestLiberia to the westMali to the northwestBurkina Faso to the northeastGhana to the east, and the Gulf of Guinea (Atlantic Ocean) to the south. Its official language is French, and indigenous languages are also widely used, including BétéBaouléDioulaDanAnyin, and Cebaara Senufo. In total, there are around 78 different languages spoken in Ivory Coast. The country has a religiously diverse population, including numerous followers of IslamChristianity, and indigenous faiths such as Animism.[1]