Democratic Republic of Congo

Contact: Urbain Kapoko Sumaili



The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), also known as Congo-Kinshasa and formerly known as Zaire, is a country in Central Africa. By land area, the DRC is the second-largest country in Africa, after Algeria, and the 11th-largest in the world. With a population of around 112 million, the Democratic Republic of the Congo is the most populous officially Francophone country in the world. The national capital and largest city is Kinshasa, which is also the economic center. The country is bordered by the Republic of the CongoCentral African RepublicSouth SudanUgandaRwandaBurundiTanzania (across Lake Tanganyika), ZambiaAngola, the Cabinda exclave of Angola and the South Atlantic Ocean.